Update to July 15, 2014 TBT article; The lower court’s ruling reported in the July 15, 2014 TBT article was reversed by the Second District Court of Appeal on March 23, 2016. Pinellas County.

The Florida District Courts of Appeal are divided into 5 Districts. The follow article from the Florida Courts website provides a summary of the District Courts of Appeal jurisdiction and organization.


The purpose of Florida’s District Courts of Appeal is to provide the opportunity for thoughtful review of decisions of lower tribunals by multi-judge panels. This process contributes to the development, clarity, and consistency of the law.There are five District Courts of Appeal in Florida, located respectively in Tallahassee, Lakeland, Miami, West Palm Beach and Daytona Beach. Decisions of the district courts of appeal represent the final appellate review of litigated cases.

The Constitution now provides that the Florida Legislature shall divide the State into appellate court districts,   headquartered in Tallahassee, Lakeland, Miami, West Palm Beach, and Daytona Beach.


The fundamental reasons for appeals from trial courts are to correct harmful errors by having review by a multi-judge panel of experienced judges and to promote clarity and consistency in the law by publishing opinions that set forth the relevant facts of the case and the proper application of the law to those facts. The district courts of appeal can hear appeals from final judgments and can review certain non-final orders.

Finally, the district courts have been granted constitutional authority to issue the extraordinary writs of certiorari, prohibition, mandamus, quo warranto, and habeas corpus, as well as all other writs necessary to the complete exercise of their jurisdiction.By general law, the district courts have been granted the power to review final actions taken by state agencies in carrying out the duties of the executive branch of government.